Lockdown Level 1 Travel: List of High-risk Countries

The further rules around the reopening of the country’s borders were announced this afternoon.

From 1 October 2020, international travel from the African Continent and from countries outside the African Continent with a low rate of COVID-19 infection and transmission, will resume, subject to:

(a) the traveller providing a valid certificate of a negative test which was obtained not more than 72 hours before the date of travel; and

(b) in the event of the traveller’s failure to submit a certificate as proof of a negative test, the traveller will be required to quarantine at his or her own costs.

Rules for International Travel

International travel from countries deemed to be at a high risk of COVID-19 infection and transmission will remain prohibited, except for business travel for those who have clearance from the Minister of Home Affairs.

If the passport of the traveller from a high-risk country indicates that they spent ten days or more in a low-risk country before departure, they will be considered to be arriving from a low-risk country. 

Visitors from high-risk countries may therefore consider travelling to a low-risk country and remain there for ten days before proceeding onward to South Africa. 

Visitors must produce a Polymerase Chain Reaction (PCR) test not older than 72 hours from the time of departure from the country of origin.

The test must be conducted by a certified medical practitioner and must have the name and signature of the person who conducted the test.

Upon arrival, travellers will be screened for Covid-19.

Travellers will need to provide proof of accommodation and travel insurance is mandatory for all travellers.

List of high-risk countries

The following countries are considered high-risk, and visitors arriving from these countries not be allowed into the country:

  • Albania ​​​
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Bahrain
  • Belgium
  • Bolivia
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Brazil ​​​ ​​​​
  • Chile
  • ​​​Columbia
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia 
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Ecuador
  • France​​​
  • Georgia 
  • Greece
  • Guatemala 
  • Guyana​​​
  • Honduras
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • India
  • Iran
  • ​​​Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Jamaica
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Luxembourg ​​
  • Maldives
  • Malta
  • Mexico
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro ​​​
  • Nepal ​​
  • Netherlands 
  • North Macedonia
  • Oman
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Paraguay
  • Peru ​​​
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Slovakia
  • Suriname
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine
  • ​​​United Emirates
  • United Kingdom              
  • USA
  • Venezuela

South Africans are free to travel to any country that currently allows travellers from South Africa to visit. 

Speak to a professional

We can help you with all Visa Applications in South Africa. We also feature a Free Online Assessment to help you determine your current status and which steps to take next. Contact Le Roux Attorneys today to assist you with any visa enquiries or questions. 

Contact Le Roux Attorneys, South African Visa specialists about your visa application. Start by selecting one of the enquiry options below.

Posted in blog, Immigration Policy, News and tagged , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *